Sometimes we see justice served . . .

You know, sometimes it is just good to see justice served. I know many times, justice will not be given until after we die and we stand before God. But, sometimes, it does happen on this earth, and there is something very, very encouraging about that.

I won’t pretend that I’ve been affected by 9/11 and the events following it, because, in all honesty I haven’t. I didn’t know anyone there and didn’t know any soldiers or their families till just recently. My husband just recently joined the military, so I haven’t really felt the affects much in my own family yet.  My heart went out to those I knew were suffering and struggling and subsequent September 11th’s never passed without me remembering the families and praying for them.  But, that has been about all . . .

Until recently. Now I know soldiers who have been deployed and who are deployed. I know families and have friends among the military community. I’m starting to realize what all this means and the bigger picture.Yesterday morning, my husband came in to where I was still waking up from sleeping and shared the news with me. I’m ashamed to say it, but I brushed it off. To my pragmatic mind, I knew it would change nothing for me personally. One more bad guy was caught, that’s all. But, over the full course of yesterday and today, things began to sink in. I read the stories from so many other military wives, saw the news, heard of the celebrations going on, and the mixed reactions of so many people.

I remembered back to that first September 11th and my memories from that day. And somehow the news yesterday seemed very right. I thought, you know, this is something that I will be sharing with my children someday.

While I have no right to claim anything for myself, because I have not really been affected, I wanted to extend a heartfelt thank you to the Seals, to their families, and to all the soldiers and their families in the military community — to everyone who has served, not just in this war but in all our wars. My prayers go up for everyone who has been affected in the past many years, and who will continue to be affected for many, many years to come. Finally, I thank God for bringing justice in a way that I can see. May He continue to move and work as He has been and bring an end to this war.

Leave a comment

Filed under National Guard Life, This Earthly Walk

Leave a Reply

