What drill weekend is like (pictures)!

This past weekend was a drill weekend.

My parent’s farm cat was one of the first to greet us. She is such a gorgeous cat. πŸ™‚ She got the name emerald from the color of her eyes (just a bit of random information that you really need to know).

Spent time with my brother, who was back from college on spring break! πŸ™‚ We were going to hang out at a bookstore (after I met up with a friend for a bit of girl time, catching up, and talking about God and all). Even though I’m pretty crazy about books, my brother and I ended up hanging out in a small hardware store instead for a little. Don’t tell anyone, but I like tools and all that too. πŸ™‚ I would love to have my own woodworking shop . . . band saw, scroll saw, drillpress, sander . . . “dreamy sigh.”

Anyway, my brother is awesome to hang out with. You should try it some time.

Brother at shop

On drill weekends, hanging out with the family and all is great. I got to make sugar cookies with my two younger brothers too. πŸ™‚

But, I missed my hubby.

And, after a full weekend, there’s nothing like going home.

(Yep, puppy comes with us on drill weekends too.)

And the price of gas is so, way not cool right now . . .

And here I am. πŸ™‚ Uh, so sorry, but it’s the only picture I got of myself this weekend. Do you ever watch yourself in the sidemirror, or am I the only one? I find that I do that a lot. I think I’m just terribly curious to see what I look like in random, everyday happenings. Either that, or I’m rather vain. I think I’ll go with the curiosity. πŸ™‚

Driving back as the sun sets. Happiness is being in the same car as my handsome soldier hubby. (I’d say more, but if I do, might end up getting all mushy, and pardon me if I’m wrong, but I’m not sure that anyone really wants to hear all of that. πŸ™‚

Happy Monday all!

2 Comments

Filed under National Guard Life, This Earthly Walk

2 responses to “What drill weekend is like (pictures)!

  1. My husband’s unit had their drill weekend last weekend, since his unit is so far away, & most of the others don’t live by the unit either, it was a few conference calls that I slept through in the next room (I’m a day sleeper). This upcoming weekend will be interesting, he’s going into the field w/another unit, so I’ll have to find ways to occupy myself. My brother’s in the area visiting, so maybe he’ll still be around this weekend, idk his itinerary. My husband’s unit is by his dad & younger sister, so when he goes there for AT, he gets to visit family as well. I guess drill weekends can be a family gathering in many different ways!

    • Hope you had a great weekend. My hubby’s drill has been almost like a regular work week. He leaves early and gets back in time for supper. Kinda hard to lose a whole weekend, especially for him, but we manage. We haven’t been separated at all since we’ve been married. But, there’s talk that AT this year will bring some separation. Ah well, I knew it would be sooner or later. A couple days really isn’t much anyway…but still will miss him.

Leave a Reply

