Milspouse Friday Fill-In #37 – PCSing, on post strangeness, and Jesus

Milspouse Friday Fill-In #37Hooray, another Friday Fill-In! Hop on over to Wife of a Sailor to join in, or read more great entries. Just remember to leave me a comment first. 🙂

1. With PCS (permanent change of station) moves happening every few years, do you take the time to paint and decorate your home? submitted by Life as Mrs. JPT

I’m a National Guard wife, so I don’t have to worry about PCSing (though being newly married, with hubby in grad school makes me pretty sure that we’ll be moving in the next couple years, once he graduates). However, if I were PCSing, my first thought would be that of course I would decorate. For me, the decorations give that homey, familiar feeling to a place, and that’s pretty important no matter how often you move. 🙂

2. If you could live in any home on a television series, what would it be? submitted by Standing By Him

Okay, confession here. I haven’t watched much TV, so I really have no idea. In fact, I’m not really sure what type of home I would like to live in anyway. Hmm . . . now you’ve got me thinking. 🙂 Let’s just put it this way, whatever home my husband lived in, that’s where I’d want to be. 🙂 Beyond that, it’s just details, (though I’ll be honest, sometimes I end up being rather particular about those details . . . “sheepish smile”)

3. What inspired you to start your blog?  submitted by Pink Combat Boots

Hey look, it’s a question by me! (I was just going down through these questions and when I read this one, I thought it sounded familiar. It took me a moment to realize that I had submitted it. 🙂 Thanks Wife of a Sailor!)

Uh, the long and the short story of my blogging is that I started it to connect up with others (particularly military folks). I had planned originally to write more military related posts, but as my blog has evolved, it’s become more about my personal life (military living, homemaking, marriage, my “family”) instead. I love writing and having a personal website though. I have the freedom to be myself here, almost like it’s my little corner of the world. 🙂 Makes me happy and keeps me in touch with others. 🙂

4. What is the weirdest thing you’ve ever seen on base? submitted by Adventures in Life

Well, my base experiences have been very limited. Actually, I’m not sure if I have technically ever been on a real base. I’ve been on several military installations . . . well, ok, two. And as far as I can recall, there really wasn’t anything that strange on them. I did think that having an unmanned barbershop inside of an open, unmanned Subway shop was a little strange, but maybe that’s just me. In the civilian world, if nobody was in the building, it would have been considered closed (and the door would have been locked). And, not to many people would want hair cutting down close to where they are eating (even if the barbarshop was enclosed behind glass).

5. Which historical figure (politician, writer, artist, scientist, actor, etc. . . ) would you like to have dinner with? submitted by Army of Two

Jesus.

Napoleon Bonaparte says it best, “I know men and I tell you that Jesus Christ is no mere man. Between him and every other person in the world there is no possible term of comparison. Alexander, Caesar, Charlemagne, and I founded empires. But on what did we rest the creations of our genius? Upon force. Jesus Christ founded His empire upon love; and at this hour millions of people would die for Him.”

I’d like to sit down with Jesus. In fact, I’d just like to be in His presence, and see Him there across the table from me. I don’t think I’d really want to say anything for a very long while. I’d be in too much awe. Sends chills up and down my spine just thinking about it.

Alrighty, Happy Friday everyone! Have a wonderful weekend!

4 Comments

Filed under National Guard Life, This Earthly Walk

4 responses to “Milspouse Friday Fill-In #37 – PCSing, on post strangeness, and Jesus

  1. I remember reading this posts before, but I didn’t seem to leave a comment, so I’m back, this time for the Military Monday Carnival. Like yourself, I don’t have to worry about PCSing since I’m a Reserve wife, but I agree that decorating would help a new place feel like home. I’m not a big decorator, but I remember the last time I moved, hanging some familiar posters on my walls helped the apartment feel like home quickly.

    • Thanks for the comment! 🙂 Love comments 🙂 I love decorating. Sometimes I wish I had a ton of money to sink into decorating just how I want too, but I guess it’s probably better that I don’t get carried away. 🙂 This was my first move as an adult, and I was surprised at how little touches, like pictures and some small decorations really helped it feel like home. 🙂

  2. One of the nicest things about leaving active duty is having a place to call home–of course, home is where the heart is…but it is nice to have a place to rest your head each night, too!

Leave a Reply

