Not sure why I’m on a burning bridges kick

I guess it might have something to do with the seriousness of burning one’s bridges. You know, you can’t go back after the bridge is burned. Or if you do, it’s so much more work and effort, finding another bridge or building one yourself, or if you’re lucky, getting someone else to build one for you.

Kelly’s Heroes

This was a quote in our bulletin this Sunday, and for some reason, it really stood out to me.

He who cannot forgive breaks the bridge over which he himself must pass.” – George Herbert (1593-1633)

Reminds me of the Lord’s Prayer and how we have no right to ever deny anyone forgiveness, because we have failed others (and especially God) so many times too. If we want to come before God and ask for Him to forgive us, He expects us to do the same.

I’ve tried to keep things on here upbeat and fun. I enjoy smiling and love it when others smile too. But I do have my serious moments. Guess this is one that made it here onto my blog. You get kinda serious when you hear about a fellow military wife blogger who is so discouraged and desperate from a marriage gone wrong that she plans on ending everything. That sobers one up. You know, it may be that I like smiling and I don’t like dwelling on serious topics for long. But it’s because I know that pain and suffering, disillusionment and depression will be with us for as long as humans walk this planet. Dwelling on it won’t make it go away or bring healing. Sharing laughter, love, forgiveness and hope and the God who gives all of these can make a difference.

God bless and remember those who are struggling today.

And know that if you’re struggling, you’re not the only one, and you’re never alone. God is there for you.

Leave a comment

Filed under This Earthly Walk

Leave a Reply

