Pink Combat Boots: What “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” and guns shops have in common

The best part of this past weekend, besides hubby taking me out to eat for my birthday . . .

(No, this isn’t at Tiffany’s . . . nor is it breakfast for that matter . . . )

Priscilla at Pink Combat Boots out to eat

(see . . . I’ve been craving Chinese food for awhile . . . and, uh, that’s why my plate is so full . . . It was a buffet, “happy smile” . . . and it was really, really good! )

and getting to watch “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”

Breakfast at Tiffany's movie

was, on Saturday, getting to tag along with hubby and a friend to several gun stores. At first, when I headed out with them, I was just happy to be able to see the stores that my hubby loves stopping at.

Grice's gun shop store front

Pink Combat Boots' husband at the gunshop

There were racks and racks of guns . . .

Hubby looking at the guns

There were some pretty insane sales going on too, so the two gun shops we visited first were packed!

I’m not sure if it was more crowded than the college buses during rush hour, but I do know that these people were far more polite and good natured.

This is the line of people waiting to get out of one of the back rooms. That isn’t the checkout up ahead, just the main section of the store.

Crowds at the gun shops

So, I’m hanging out with hubby, looking at all the guns, and seeing guns I haven’t seen before . . . at least not up close and personal . . . and I start feeling it . . .

50 cal gun

This gun . . .

Hubby with 50 cal gun

shoots these bullets . . .

50 cal bullet

(That’s my hubby’s hand, and he doesn’t have small hands. When I held that bullet up against my hand, it was practically as long as my hand. I hadn’t realized 50 caliber bullets were that large. I believe each of those cost about $5.00, and you go through a lot of ammo quickly. Pretty expensive gun to shoot, needless to say . . . )

Big gun, big bullets . . . and one small girl itching to shoot it just once . . . πŸ™‚

See, the longer I hung out with hubby and his friend . . . and the guns, the more I started to feel it . . .

and after seeing this wall, I was a goner.

tactical guns hanging on a wall

I was off dreaming about the guns I’d love to have.

“happy, dreamy sigh”

Someday . . . πŸ™‚

(Frankly, I’m not sure what “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” and guns shops have in common . . . accept that I enjoyed both!)


Disclaimer: For anyone wondering, guns and shooting is a hobby for us (my hubby and I). We enjoy target shooting. I’ve been hunting once, a long time ago, and enjoyed it, but probably won’t go again. Punching holes through targets is more fun, and I’ve seen enough pain and death in animals to want to stay away from causing any more forever. In any case, I didn’t want anyone to think I’m a crazy, killer female or something . . .Β  πŸ™‚


Priscilla at Pink Combat Boots is an avid blogger.

2 Comments

Filed under This Earthly Walk

2 responses to “Pink Combat Boots: What “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” and guns shops have in common

  1. This post made me laugh-especially the ending where you have your disclaimer. That was funny. I am glad you had a great time. I always love doing things with my hubby too. And I love Breakfast at Tiffany’s-especially the clothes! So beautiful. Guns-not sure. I’m kind of afraid of them, because I haven’t really been taught to shoot. I’ve always wanted to learn though-I loved watching Sydney Bristow πŸ™‚

    • Awww, yeah I’m nervous around some guns, the ones that I don’t know how to handle too well. But after having gone shooting with my husband quite often, I feel a lot more comfortable. Growing up, there were hunters in my extended family, so it always seemed rather natural to have guns around. But yeah, being nervous around something we don’t understand is so natural for us girls. πŸ™‚ My husband did a lot to help me with that, and I’m not even sure he realized it. πŸ™‚ He’s no natural and confident with shooting, but never made fun of me as I learned (and still am). I gotta tell ya, there ain’t no better teacher. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

