Milspouse Friday Fill-in #35 – Gadgets, Mil-stress, and Chocolate Cake!

1. What is your must have gadget? submitted by Flying High With My Flyboy

My waffle maker! (I make waffles at least once a week, more often if I can get away with it.)

Errr . . . wait, I really must have my phone too.

Ummm . . . maybe I need my computer more . . . I can’t imagine living without my computer. “dramatic shudder”

Uh, can I have more than one  “must have” gadget? 🙂

2. How does your adulthood compare to what you imagined it would be like when you were a little kid? submitted by L to the Third

Uh, can I say that I was a very serious child growing up? I imagined being grown up as being miserable and boring and tons of hard work. I guess it is all those things . . . maybe.  But I will say that it turned out to be a lot more awesome than I thought it would be. 🙂

3. What is your favorite chocolate recipe?  submitted by Our First Deployment

Can I have mine as orange and yellow candies? Reeses Pieces are awesome! (Well, somebody somewhere must have the recipe for those. 🙂 )

Someday I want to make a rich three layer chocolate cake, like they would bring us at the place where I used to work. Those were the best!

4. How do you deal with military life when it gets to be to much or to hard? submitted by Combat Boots And Pointe Shoes

Hide . . . cry . . . hide . . . blame someone else . . . hide . . . act all tough . . . hide . . . talk to someone else . . . cry . . . laugh . . . get over it . . .  🙂

(Sometimes I’ll remember to ask for help too.)

5. What piece of advice would you give a new Military spouse facing their first deployment?  submitted by The Albrecht Squad

Uh, well I’m one of those new military spouses. Not sure when deployment will come, but I feel pretty confident it’s coming.

Hmmm, my advice to myself? Plan and prepare ahead as much as I can, and enjoy the time now that I have with hubby.

That, and try to find a “battle buddy” milspouse friend. Still working on that one . . .


Priscilla is an avid blogger, writing about homemaking, marriage and her heavenly father

6 Comments

Filed under This Earthly Walk

6 responses to “Milspouse Friday Fill-in #35 – Gadgets, Mil-stress, and Chocolate Cake!

  1. I found you through LBS, and I just want to tell you thanks for what you, your husband, and your family do for our country.

  2. What’s a “battle buddy”?? I’m coming up on my 1st deployment very quickly. I’m nervous but excited to get it over with and see how I handle it.

    • I believe a “battle buddy” is someone the soldier husband partners with. They watch each other’s backs in and out of combat. I’m not sure how popular in the military it is, but I’ve heard of it being in use. In any case, I’ve heard the term going around among military spouses too. We need someone to partner with during deployments, someone who’s got our back and we’ve got theirs. We’re a phonecall away and ready to offer help or simply a listening ear. Friends and family are great and necessary, but having someone who’s going through it with you is even better.

      Thanks for stopping by and God bless through your upcoming deployment!

  3. I love the idea of using the term “battle buddy” for a partner MilSpouse, as well! Great questions and great answers! Thank you for sharing them!

Leave a Reply

