Mil-Spouse Friday Fill-in! 5 Questions

Head on over to Wife of a Sailor to join in!

1. What is your favorite MilSpouse blog (not including Wife of a Sailor who we all love, or your own)? submitted by Our Crazy Life

Umm…I’ve got a lot that I keep up with as best I can. But, one of my favorites has been Army Wife 101. Right now she’s gearing up for a PCS, but before, she had shared a lot of helpful and interesting information for military families. She’s real on her blog and makes you feel like you’re a part of the family.

2. What are your favorite perks about your s/o being deployed (we all know there are perks)? submitted by Ramblings of a Marine Wife

My husband hasn’t deployed yet. We had two different training/testing month long times that my husband (at that time boyfriend and fiance) was away for. It’s definitely not the same as a deployment, but they are the only times we’ve been separated, so I thought I’d mention them instead. There was very little communication between us during those months (the army’s like that sometimes). To be honest, I can’t really think of too many highlights for those. I missed him a lot and tried to keep busy. On the first one, I really dug into my relationship with God for that month, and that was amazing. On the second one, I enjoyed getting to know some other military gals online, and had my first experience of picking my loved one up at the airport when he came back! 🙂

3. How long did you date your <significant other> before getting engaged? Married? submitted by Utterly Chaotic
I believe we dated (courted) for about 2.5 years. It was a long time, but we made the most of it, while he finished undergrad. We got engaged about 9 months before we were married. Since he was in ROTC and going into the National Guard, we were able to have a wonderfully planned wedding. Not the usual mil-wife wedding story, I know, so I’m especially thankful for that. 🙂

4. What do you think your <significant other> would do if s/he wasn’t in the military? submitted by Adventures of M-Squared


Hmm, we’ll he’s in grad school for environmental engineering now, so that’s what he would be doing. He would also like to be more involved with church and serving others. He’s a pretty service minded guy. Something I love about him. 🙂

5. If you could talk to the Secretary of (fill in your appropriate branch) what is one suggestion you would like to bring to their attention in order to improve the lives of military families?  submitted by My Life as His (Air Force) Wife
To be honest, I’m not sure. I haven’t been a mil-spouse long enough to figure it out. I think maybe they could do a little more for National Guard wives, at least with my husband’s unit. We’ve been there almost three months now, and I have had no communication from anyone. Which is okay (I’m not complaining, just wondering how to change it). I don’t mind taking the initiative, but I’m not sure who to even talk too, or if there is an FRG or who I would contact if there isn’t an FRG. It’s kinda confusing and a little frustrating, but I know that’s how it can be in the National Guard. So, just taking things slowly. At least there isn’t a deployment coming up too quickly in the future, so I still have some time to figure things out.

Well, there you have it! Why not leave me a comment, or run on over to Wife of a Sailor and join in the fun (but, leave me a comment first). 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under National Guard Life, This Earthly Walk

6 responses to “Mil-Spouse Friday Fill-in! 5 Questions

  1. You reminded me so much of us 21 years ago when I read some of your answers. I remember the first p/u @ the airport like it was yesterday and I remember those first few times he left, getting me ready for what’s ahead. Also, spending much time with God when hubby is gone. He is what got me through it all.

    Wishing you the very best military life experience possible.

  2. I’m glad there are National Guard spouses like you out there and blogging; I think that by doing so, you are advocating for one of the lesser-known parts of the service. As an Active Duty spouse, I really don’t know too much about the Guard side of the coin, but I hope to learn more.

    • Aww, thank you. I’ve noticed that the National Guard lifestyle isn’t as well known too. For instance, I have yet to run across any publications specifically geared towards the National Guard spouse. Some things are similar to Active duty, but there’s a lot of things unique (like the distance and being fairly isolated from other military families) to the Guard. I’ve been very thankful for the other National Guard spouses and families I’ve found online (and all my active duty acquaintances too! 🙂 ) If there’s one thing I’ve noticed about military spouses, it’s that they seem to be very friendly! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Rheanna

    i think my hubby and your hubby were cut out of the same mold. we met while we were both volunteering for a crisis pregnancy center (at 16 and 17). He was a boy scout and I was involved in a teen abstinence group. And I haven’t heard anyone use the word “courted” in forever! we dated/courted 🙂 And I’m with you on the National Guard thing…I mean its so true….people don’t really know much or understand much about it…especially AGR (active guard reserve) which is what we are. yay for NG girls!!! You should come by my little forum I run. Its pretty small and we try to keep it that way by doing it sort of invitation only, but not really..if that makes sense. anyway, thanks for a great post 🙂

    rheanna
    cammo style love
    http://www.loveanddogtags.freeforums.org

    • Thank you for the invite 🙂 Yeah, I don’t meet a lot of people who use the term “courted” either. My hubby and I were pretty serious from the start, so “dating” just didn’t seem a serious enough term.

      I’ve kind of made it my mission to try to educate people a little more about Guard life (as I try to educate myself, that is), and find ways that I can help others too. 🙂 I’ll have to stop over and visit your forum. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

