Why I’m so Crazy About Him: 13 Days to Valentine’s Day

I just came from LBD Diaries.com where she wrote about love and having faith in her spouse. And you know, it made me want to write too, about why I’m crazy about my man. And believe me, this isn’t made up or written through fairytale rose-colored glasses. I’m the kind of girl who tends to see reality in everything. I’m serious and rarely go off the deep end about anything. Enough hard knocks in life and you get wise. Not as fun, but safe. BUT . . .

The day he walked into my life was right after I began praying that God would do whatever He wanted with my life. Not my will, not even what I longed for or hoped for, but just simply God’s will. Those were months of pure surrender and peace . . . and the hardest months I’ve ever gone through. This man began writing to me (and I writing back) and I saw a heart that was strong and tough, but gentle and soft with those he cared about. He was serious and God-centered and not afraid of being real, even when it didn’t always paint himself in the prettiest light. He would put himself on the line again and again, for me, for his family, for God, but rarely himself, and he never complained about it. He wasn’t afraid of hardwork, nor of having fun.

What drove me crazy was that I had had no intention of falling in love with him, but over the following months after we began writing, I found myself going back to God and saying, “but God, he’s perfect.” I’m not sure whether I advocate having a list, but I had one. I had written down the things I wanted to see in my future spouse, so that, in the heat of falling in love, I would have something concrete and well thought through to go off of (told you I was sensible), and this man fulfilled every one of them. One by one, I would check them off the list, and the better I got to know him, the more I could check off. I remember the day that I finally admitted to myself that I had fallen in love with him. It was beautiful, previous, and terrifying.

Even more so what I hadn’t expected was what I had to personally deal with. Fears and doubts that I had lived with quite well up until then surfaced in full force. Things that I had experienced previously and that I had left behind came back to haunt me. It was God’s way of not leaving me where I was. God seemed to have brought this man and I together to help us combat those very problems we had. When I wanted to run, I had to stand. When I wanted to hide, that man was calling for me. When I was struggling, that man was there for me, reassuring, challenging, praying, being the strong one when I was weak. And you know, people don’t change, I mean, struggles we have do not miraculously go away one day. Sometimes they do, but so very often, instead, those struggles stick around long enough for us to become stronger and grow through them. And that’s the story of our courtship and marriage. I’m not perfect and still have fears, but my husband is still the same, loving, gentle, strong, courageous man I got to know in courtship. It’s been the best time of my life.

There were those who doubted us, and I believe there are those who still doubt us. But, you don’t know my husband or my God. And you know, I’m alright with that. I wish desperately for you to know my God, and for you to know what an awesome guy my husband is, but if you don’t, it’s ok. I know them and am immensely happy about it.

13 Days to Valentine’s Day!

(Here are some great blogs with ideas and more. As a WARNING, some of these sites may have more information or ideas than everyone may be comfortable with.

I’m not necessarily advocating anything, just simply that these sites did have some pretty fun ideas in them and I thought that they may be fun for you too.

The content is NOT geared towards OR appropriate for children though.)

The Generous Wife

A few nights ago my husband and I went to an appreciation dinner.  As a part of expressing appreciation a few folks had created cards and written messages on them.  They took turns reading cards and would then hand the card to the person for whom it was written (everyone received at least one card).  There was a lot of laughter and a few tears as people shared from their hearts.

I thought it was such a good idea that I created one for a friend of mine.  I think it would be a great idea for husbands as well, perhaps as a Valentine’s Day gift.  You can make it as simple or fancy as you like, just take the time to write some heartfelt words about how much you love and appreciate your husband (the more specific you are about the “whys” the better).

Love, Actually


If you know of more fun ideas or great sites, please let me know!

4 Comments

Filed under Marriage

4 responses to “Why I’m so Crazy About Him: 13 Days to Valentine’s Day

  1. Hello! I am new to your blog so I wanted to say hi. I like your story. I love my husband for the same or similar reason(s). I hope you have a fantastic Valentine’s Day!
    Mira

  2. I loved reading this today. Especially about the fact that sometimes we have to go through those things to make us stronger…(my paraphrase). I have had a rough time the last few years because I made bad choices in my life…but thankfully God loved me through them and brought me full circle and blessed me with an amazing man to support me now – despite my sin in the past.

    It’s nice to see another person so thankful and happy about their spouse!

Leave a Reply

