Bomb-detecting Plants?

I’m very familiar with bomb-sniffing dogs.

I’ve even heard of land-mine detecting rats.

But I’ve never heard of anything like this before, but it seems that there are some biologists working to develop bomb-detecting plants. They’ve developed proteins that react to TNT that can be placed in practically any plant.

They have already produced plants, in a laboratory setting, that blanch white when TNT is present. Amazing! The goal is to eventually sell them, as cheaper and less conspicuous than other forms of bomb/explosives detection.

Colorado State University Biologist Rewires Plants to Detect Pollutants, Explosives

(There is the question, though, are there any side-effects, and if so, what are they?)

2 Comments

Filed under National Guard Life

2 responses to “Bomb-detecting Plants?

  1. Well wow – I never would have thought they could do something like that. Progress is so amazing!! Thanks for visiting my blog today – I appreciated your comment and want you to know that my posts like that are very real – Alpha Hubby and I are more comfortable, more protected and even better together than when we first married and we NEVER knew that could happen (altho my mom kept trying to tell me!).

    • When I ran across that article this morning, I was very surprised too!

      Thank you. You are very encouraging. 🙂 Kudos to you guys! It’s like a breath of fresh air to hear stories like yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

