President Obama’s State of the Union Address – Not Saying Much?

I watched some of President Obama’s State of the Union Address last night. It was one of the first State of the Union addresses that I’ve heard and actually listened too (I remember listening to President Bush speak, but I did not understand much of it). I wasn’t sure what to expect this time, but found last night interesting.

However, the thing that struck me the most was how the speech basically said nothing. Maybe I’m wrong, but nothing definitive seemed to be promised, no concrete actions promised. It was beautifully given (and written – I read the rest of the speech this morning) and inspiring, but I couldn’t help but notice that nothing definite and concrete was said. Perhaps that is not the purpose of the address given last night. However, if the address was to answer the question, “How are we doing?” then it would have been nice to see more numbers and actual statistics, then human interest stories.

Basically, I think, the President left himself room to claim any successes in the future and escape any failures. I don’t want to complain or talk down about the President; I know I couldn’t do his job and wouldn’t want too. However, I would give a lot for a President who was willing to stand on something by being more concrete, both with his actions in the past and his hopes for the future.

Here are a few links of interest:

(Just keep in mind that elections are coming up and at least part of the goal of these videos or links is to garner favor for that particular party. Also, just because I posted these here does not mean that I agree or disagree with any of them.)

Transcript of President Obama’s State of the Union Address

Republican Response

Tea Party Response

Libertarian Party Response

2 Comments

Filed under National Guard Life, This Earthly Walk

2 responses to “President Obama’s State of the Union Address – Not Saying Much?

  1. I completely agree with everything that you just said!

Leave a Reply

