Drill Weekend and the Cake: Picture Post!

We took off directly after hubby got back from class and got to my parents in time for supper. It was great to see everyone again!

The first night at my parents, our puppy wanted to steal my spot. That arrangement only held out so long . . . πŸ™‚

Hubby drove back after drill Saturday evening.

4am Sunday morning. A quick breakfast and off he went. Didn’t get back till close to 5:30 Sunday evening.

You know, in some ways it feels strange being a military wife. Somehow I thought it would feel a lot different.Β  I can’t help but think, “Isn’t this what everyone does on their weekends?” But, no, I guess not.

The Angel Food Cake

Alright, I’ve got to tell you my cake story! First of all, I made the Angel Food cake before we left on Friday. It turned out fairly well for being the first time I had made one, and from scratch at that. I was rather proud of myself. It was a little heavier than I wanted and not as fluffy as it should have been, but those were minor issues (especially as far as my hubby was concerned πŸ™‚ ).

I wanted to take it back to share with my family, and hubby made me promise to save him some. We didn’t have any strawberries, but my mom had some frozen cherries, and I made up a cherry pie filling to go over top. Hubby thought it was great!

Everyone had a some of the cake for supper, but there was plenty left over and I promised to save it for hubby for Sunday evening after he got back from drill.

But . . .

When I packed everything up to be ready to leave Sunday evening (to drive back home), I placed the cake (neatly wrapped in it’s cake pan and tinfoil) in a bag on the floor with the rest of the groceries. My parents have a dog, but she’s never gotten into groceries before.

Til now . . !

Minutes before we were ready to leave, we caught her very happily devouring the cake. She promptly went onto our “Naughty List”. lol. I salvaged what I could of the cake since she had been a very dainty eater, but we were down to half as much.

We finished packing up and left. When we got home, it was late and so very cold outside, so we unloaded our stuff as quickly as we could out of the car. The groceries got thrown on the floor; I was going to put them away immediately. But, our puppy took an even shorter time to discover the cake. He looked so guilty and so happy at the same time. lol. I wanted to sit down on the floor and cry. I couldn’t even tell my husband about it at first; he had so been looking forward to it.

But we did laugh pretty hard about it later . . . and went to the store and picked up some ice cream to console ourselves! πŸ™‚

4 Comments

Filed under This Earthly Walk

4 responses to “Drill Weekend and the Cake: Picture Post!

  1. Rebekah M

    Um . . . you could make another! And you could make it at my house, cause we don’t have a dog . . . the only thing you’d have to worry about would be Daniel . . . he likes Angel Food! Come to think of it, perhaps we could make one together when I come to visit? I shall speak the fear of Rebekah and Angel Food Cake into Danny though . . . when I’m finished he won’t even consider looking at it, lol.

  2. You don’t know our dog . . . lol. But yeah, maybe we could make another one. πŸ™‚

  3. Paul S

    This cake story is hilarious. I’ve just got one question. You called Mercy a dainty eater. That’s not the Mercy I remember. πŸ™‚

  4. Oh, she was dainty . . . but in a sneaky sort of way. lol. She looked so happy when I caught her in that cake, like it was really, really good. lol.

Leave a Reply

